Millennial Juicer

juicing isn't just for your hippie grandma any longer…

Juice Recipes – Sunshine Burst of Asparagus October 31, 2010

Filed under: Mixed (Veggies & Fruit) Juices,Recipes — millenialjuicer @ 5:42 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Asparagus is an alkaline food and a good source of potassium, Vitamin A, Vitamin B-1, Vitamin C, Choline and Folic Acid. It is rich in protein but low in calories and carbs.

Asparagus is good for cleansing or detoxing the body due to the large amount of an amino acid it contains called asparagines. Note, this causes some people to have stinky urine so you’ve been forewarned. This is nothing to worry about, though.

Asparagus is also a natural diuretic and traditionally in natural medicine it is used for various conditions like arthritis, PMS, bowel movement, cataracts, kidney stuff, diabetes and more I’m sure.

I’m also sure that pineapple is good for you in many ways as it contains Vitamin C and bromelain. Bromelain is a natural digestive enzyme that also has anti-inflammatory properties so you know that’s good for you for oh so many reasons.

I forgot to take pictures while I was making this juice, but I’ll take some the next time I make one which I’m sure will be soon.

Sunshine Burst of Asparagus Juice

1 whole pineapple (I do not juice the rind because I don’t think it’d be tasty and I’m allergic. However, I’ve heard you can if it’s organic and it’s also where the highest concentrations of bromelain reside.)

1 bunch of asparagus (about one pound and I find they are much easier to juice when you put the good part down first and the woody part up)

2 medium sized oranges (peel but try to include as much as the pith or the ‘soft white part’ because it’s good for you and do not juice the rind because it will make your juice sour and nasty)

3 medium sized carrots (unpeeled but you can peel away all the vitamins, minerals and nutrients if you want)

 

One Response to “Juice Recipes – Sunshine Burst of Asparagus”

  1. […] November 1, 2010 Filed under: Uncategorized — millenialjuicer @ 10:55 pm My Sunshine Burst of Asparagus Recipe boasts about the benefits of juicing asparagus and pineapple, but today I added celery to that […]


Leave a comment